Rhubarb cheesecake

I have this friend named Heidi who lives in Estonia, she owns an awesome bakery. If you’re ever in Estonia you should go there! She often times posts a link to a website that is not in English so I don’t know if it’s a blog or forum or what. Since I don’t speak Estonian, I usually just look at the pictures. This last time it looked so good that with the help of the internet I translated the recipe. It didn’t translate perfect but it also didn’t translate terribly. One of the instructions told me to add eggs and mixed berries. The recipe does not call for mixed berries and picture doesn’t seem to have any in it. Little things like that were mentioned but looking at the ingredients I figured it out. The list of ingredients leads me to believe its a style of cheesecake. I made a few changes myself, not huge changes but a few. Overall it looks good.
I have used rhubarb before, however anytime I have used it I would chop it up into bite sized pieces. The picture showed it cut in strips, I thought it looked much prettier!
Now, there are a few things in the baking/pastry world that I’m not the best at. I know it’s shocking that I’m not perfect! I can’t seem to master the French macaroon, those super cute meringue cookies that are all bright colored and happy. When I make them they look all sad and ugly! I’m not even joking about it, one day I’ll master those. Feel free to give helpful hints on those if you’re really awesome at making them. I also am terrible at crusts. The only ones I can do nicely are graham cracker, or nut crusts. Pie crusts I’m terrible at along with any kind of sugar dough. They always shrink and there is always too much…like I said one day I’ll master this too! Today it wasn’t terrible but it wasn’t good either! I ended up pushing the sides back up half way through the par bake. No worries, it all worked out the cake looks great!
I was surprised that with it being rhubarb season that New Seasons hardly had any of it. But what they did have was lovely! It’s so pretty all chopped up.

20140521-160750.jpg
In the translated recipe it call for creamy cottage cheese or a farmers cheese. I found a French farmers cheese but since I’m not super rich I chose not to buy the 6 ounces of cheese for $7. I went with Ricotta cheese instead. The recipe does call for cream cheese as well, I’ve made a cheesecake with both of these cheeses before and was pretty happy with the texture. It also calls for cardamom, the translation was saying it was salt and some were saying cardamom. I was confused so, I added nutmeg cause that should taste good and I don’t have any cardamom. I was going to add salt but then forgot. The batter was a little lumpy but not too horrible. It worked out good!

20140521-161455.jpg
I could have done this in a spring form pan but I thought a tart pan would be prettier.

20140521-161911.jpg
I ended up have a little extra batter so I made two tiny tartlets which weren’t as cute as you might think. I haven’t tasted it, it’s for a book club tomorrow night. A friend of mine hires me to make desserts for her book club. It’s a pretty sweet gig, I get to make whatever I want! Hopefully the ladies will love this one!

20140521-162341.jpg

Here’s the recipe, it’s all in weight measurements and it’s grams not ounces.

Crust:
100 grams butter
85 grams sugar
1 egg
180 grams flour
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon salt

Cream your butter and sugar until fluffy. Add egg and mix till together. Add flour, nutmeg and salt. Don’t over mix, this causes your crust to shrink.
Press into the bottom of a 8 or 9 inch tart pan, I used a 10 inch and needed more crust. Poke the crust with a fork so it doesn’t puff up like mine did.
Bake at 350 for 15 minutes or until edges are a light light brown. Set aside.

Filling:

400 grams cream cheese
200 grams ricotta cheese
100 grams sugar
3 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

About 3/4 pounds rhubarb for the top.

Cream your cheeses, sugar and nutmeg. Slowly add eggs and vanilla letting batter mix for a minute after each egg is added. Pour batter into crust and smooth out top. Arrange rhubarb into columns or however you please. Bake at 350 for 25 minutes or until cake is set. Let cool before serving.

I used a small amount of nutmeg, you could add more but be careful because nutmeg packs a punch! You don’t want to over do it!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Rhubarb cheesecake

  1. The cheeses you chose made the best tasting cheesecake! It wasn’t really dense (which I loved!) And the flavor with the tricky balance of cheese and sweet was perfection and yummy!

Leave a Reply

