Pumpkin love

A couple of weeks ago I came home to 6 smallish pumpkins on my back porch. My first thought was Pumpkin Fairy, obviously! Come to find out that the Pumpkin Fairy came in the form of my Aunt and Uncle. I was super excited, I love the gift of vegetables! With it being October and smack in the middle of fall, I felt I needed to make some delicious pumpkin pastries. In order to use those pumpkins I needed to roast them. This was the first time I have roasted pumpkins to make my own pumpkin purée. I’ve been told and have read that you want to use sugar pumpkins to bake with, they are smaller pumpkins with a non stringy texture. Apparently jack o lantern pumpkins are very stringy and not your best choice. I would imagine that if you had a heavy duty food processor it wouldn’t matter if it was stringy. I don’t know what variety the ones I used were but they worked out just fine.

20131024-195914.jpg
To roast pumpkins for purée, I set my oven at 400 degrees and got out a couple of baking sheets with Silpats. You could use parchment paper or foil if you don’t have a Silpat, you will need to spray the paper or foil with pan spray…otherwise you will never get them off the foil! I love using a Silpat for roasting veggies, super easy clean up! Cutting up pumpkins is really a difficult task especially when your knives are as dull as mine. Seriously my knives are in sorry shape, it embarrassing! You should probably use a sharp knife…it would easier! I chopped up the pumpkins Into medium pieces. The smaller the piece the faster it cooks. I filled my baking sheets pretty full because they will shrink a smidge in the oven and it won’t be so crowded.
20131027-074631.jpg

I don't put anything on them, and I set a timer for 15 minutes. It takes longer then 15 minutes but I like to check them and move them around. Mine took about 30 minutes in the oven . I do know someone who has an oven that will roast pumpkins in 15 minutes, his oven is dark brown….clearly about as old as I am! Obviously it runs a shade hot. I don't know your oven so be conservative with your time, you can always add more time. You will know they are done because they will be very soft. Let them cool down and once they are cool you should be able to peel the skin off of them. Once you have all the skins off I used a food processor to purée the pumpkin.

20131027-074828.jpg
It’s not the same as the canned stuff. It’s a lighter color and not as thick. You could adjust the liquid in the recipe by reducing it just a shade, I left everything the same and the muffins I made turned out just fine. I ended up using all of the purée I made, however if you have more than you need you can always freeze it.

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin love

  1. Sugar pumpkins are small and round with pretty thick skins so I think that is what yours sounded like–they are a bit more flavorful than big jack-o-lantern pumpkins too. Remind me to tell you about the guy who told my friend and I about making his dinner in a sugar pumpkin! Your puree looks great!!

Leave a Reply

