Mountain Dew cupcakes!

I just want to start this whole post saying I hate Mountain Dew. Even when I was a pop drinker I stayed away from it. I have always been wigged out by its color and the crazy rumors of it having formaldehyde in it or other crazy chemicals. With that said, I have a friend and coworker named Bryce who loves some Mountain Dew. He even likes the Code Red flavor…Bryce likes a lot of food items I wouldn’t eat, but he’s still my friend. This last year I decided that I would make a birthday treat for my coworkers on their birthdays. This week was Bryce’s birthday. I found this recipe on Pinterest, and was totally grossed out and really wanted to make them for Bryce. So, I had to buy Mountain Dew, luckily New Seasons sells individual cans.

20131005-170118.jpg
The cupcake it’s self had a decent crumb and texture, but there is way too much sugar! The recipe calls for 2 cups of sugar and 3/4 cup of Mountain Dew. Since soda has high fructose corn syrup in it, it was almost sickening sweet. If I were to make these again I would take out a good cup of that sugar. The recipe also calls for lemon and lime juice along with the zests and lemon extract or oil. I left out the extract/oil, mainly because I don’t have any of that and wasn’t willing to buy it when I did have the actual lemon. I think I would have liked these had they not had so much sugar in them. Here is the recipe, the woman who posted it on Pinterest said her husband loved them and says that any citrus lover will think they rock. She was wrong…I love citrus and I don’t think they rock.

Mountain Dew cupcakes

1 cup butter
2 cups sugar (really you should try 1 cup)
4 eggs
3/4 cup Mountain Dew
1/4 cup of lemon and lime juice
Zests from 1 lemon and 1 lime
1 1/2 teaspoons lemon extract ( maybe this is to give it that fake citrus flavor)
2 3/4 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

Bake 350 for 18-20 minutes
Mix your juices and soda together and set aside. Combine all your dry ingredients (flour, baking powder and salt) and set aside.
Cream your butter, sugar and zests high till its fluffy. Add your eggs one at a time and your lemon extract.
Alternate adding your wet ingredients and your dry ingredients starting with dry.
Line a muffin pan with cute muffin cups and scoop out batter tills he cups are 3/4 full.
Bake 18-20 minutes

Mountain Dew frosting

1 cup butter
4-5 cups powdered sugar
2 Tablespoons Mountain Dew ( I added more because I added a shade too much powdered sugar)
Zest from half a lemon and half a lime
1 teaspoon lemon extract (once again I didn’t use this)
Yellow and green food coloring

Beat butter and powdered sugar on slow to medium until combined. Slowly add in liquids and zest. Add food coloring.

The picture on Pinterest was a Kelly green. I was pretty proud of the color I got, I thought it really captured the weird color of Mountain Dew. I used a lot of Yellow and just a smidgen of green.

20131005-170342.jpg
Bryce really enjoyed the cupcakes, he agreed that they were way too sweet. The cake part didn’t taste bad I think if you were to cut back on sugar they would be fine.

20131005-170440.jpg

2 thoughts on “Mountain Dew cupcakes!

  1. Oh My! It is tempting to sub out the Mountain Dew for fresh squeezed orange juice or fresh lemonade and still cut the sugar in half! I’m with you on citrus –love!
    Your cupcakes look great!! You did totally capture the color of Mountain Dew!

Leave a Reply

